The Board of County Commissioners met in regular session on Monday, January 8, 2024 at 9:30 am.

Chairman Wakefield opened the meeting and asked everyone to stand for the Pledge of Allegiance.

Chairman Wakefield took roll call and present were Commissioners Averill, Tranby, Zorn, Edland, and Wakefield. Also, present was Road Superintendent/911 Coordinator Oien.

Chairman Wakefield opened the floor for any changes to the agenda. Motion by Edland to accept the agenda as presented, second by Tranby and called three times for discussion with all ayes, no nays, and carried.

Chairman Wakefield opened the floor to accept the December 21st meeting minutes. Motion by Edland to approve the December 21st meeting minutes as presented and dispense with the reading, second by Tranby and called three times for discussion with all ayes, no nays, and carried. Motion by Tranby to approve the December 28th meeting minutes as presented and dispense with the reading, second by Averill and called three times for discussion with all ayes, no nays, and carried.

Chairman Wakefield opened the floor to appoint Chairman, Vice Chairman, and Board Appointment. Commissioner Zorn nominated Commissioners Wakefield for Chairman, called three times for nominations and called three times for discussion with all ayes, no nays, and carried. Commissioner Averill nominated Commissioner Tranby for Vice-Chairman, called three times for further nominations with all ayes, no nays, and carried. There was discussion on the Board Appointments that were presented. Motion by Edland to keep the Board Appointments.

Chairman Wakefield opened the floor to discuss bills. Motion by Edland to approve the bills as presented with the exception of the North Dakota County Commissioners Association \$1,725, second by Tranby and called three times for discussion with roll call vote: Averill-aye, Tranby-aye, Edland-aye, Zorn-aye, Wakefield-aye and carried.

12378-12401	Payroll	39253.78
30932	James Anderson	113.90
30933	Arrowwood Prairie	8461.36
30934	Butler Machinery	3185.98
30935	Central Business Systems	33.50
30936	Christian Chrysler	90.40
30937	City of Cooperstown	234.41
30938	Cooper Collision	250.00
30939	Cooperstown Hardware	116.93
30940	DNA Mobility	21916.30
30941	Governsoft	13990.00
30942	Griggs County	126.18
30943	Griggs County	281.83
30944	Griggs County	870.85
30945	Griggs County Telephone	1468.00
30946	Millers	3.18
30947	NAPA	69.98
30948	ND County Commissioners	1725.00
30949	NDACo	15488.78
30950	ND Post Board	100.00
30951	ND Treasurers	200.00
30952	New Century Press	165.78

30953	Otter Tail Power	1554.41
30954	Reitens	249.50
30955	State Treasurer	8356.60
30956	Jayme Tenneson	197.60
30957	Verizon	832.83
30958	Wells County	700.00

Chairman Wakefield opened the floor to review the Monthly Office Reports. The Commission Reviewed the Monthly Office Reports as presented.

Chairman Wakefield opened the floor to Sheriff Hook to discuss the Sheriff's Office Update. There was discussion on the Back the Blue grant. Sheriff Hook communicated his resignation to the Country effected 5pm today. Motion by Averill to accept Sheriff Hook's Resignation, second by Zorn and called for discussion with further discussion. Chairman Wakefield called three times for discussion with all ayes, no nays, and carried. Motion by Tranby to appoint Michael Beaver as Sheriff until the next election in November, second by Edland and called three times for discussion with all ayes, no nays, and carried.

Chairman Wakefield opened the floor to Road Superintendent/911 Coordinator Oien. There was discussion on the information that was presented regarding the road project the City of Hannaford is working on. Motion by Averill to sign the letter of support as presented, second by Edland and called three times for discussion with all ayes, no nays, and carried.

Sheriff Hook swore in Michael Beaver as Sheriff and Oath of Office was signed.

Chairman Wakefield opened the floor to discuss the ND Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation Agreement. Motion by Edland to approve the ND Department of Corrections and Rehabilitations Agreement as president, second by Averill and called three times for discussion with all ayes, no nays, and carried.

Chairman Wakefield opened the floor to discuss the County Software. There was discussion on the situation and what the County would like to do going forward.

Chairman Wakefield opened the floor to discuss the Old Courthouse/New Courthouse. Motion by Averill to sign the Nova Fire Protection Service Agreement as presented, second by Edland and called three times for discussion with all ayes, no nays, and carried.

Chairman Wakefield opened the floor to discuss the Future Business. Back the Blue, Legacy Fund, and County Software will be discussed at the next meeting.

Motion by Tranby to adjourn meeting at 3:29 pm and meet again in special session on December 28th at 9:30 am, second by Averill and called three times for discussion with all ayes, no nays and carried.

ATTEST:	Samantha Larson	John Wakefield_
	Auditor	Chairman