User menu

About Griggs County


Griggs County Court House offices are located at:

805 Odegard Ave SW
Cooperstown, ND 58425

Phone: (701)797-3117


Our offices are available

M-F 8:00 am to 4:30 pm.



 Griggs County, North Dakota, was first settled in 1879. However, it did not become an organized county until 1881. At that time, it consisted of what is now Griggs County and the western part of Steele County. After an election, Cooperstown became the county seat. However, Hope wanted to have that honor so the records of the county were stolen at gunpoint from Cooperstown. The trial of the alleged raiders was halted when a compromise was reached establishing Griggs and Steele Counties as separate entities. The County Courthouse was built in 1883 and is the oldest courthouse in the state still in use for its original purpose.

Griggs County consists of 708.5 square miles and the estimated 2008 population was 2,359. There are three incorporated cities – Binford, Cooperstown, and Hannaford – in the County and twenty townships. The County is governed by ten elected officials: 5 part-time Commissioners, an Auditor, a Treasurer, a State’s Attorney, a Recorder/Clerk of Court, and a Sheriff. Daily operations are managed by 9 full-time Department Heads and 42 employees.

Services provided by the County include: law enforcement, highway construction & maintenance, property valuation, planning/zoning, emergency management, social services, official recording of deeds and documents, election administration, property tax collection and administration. 



Back to Top